Rice Unconventional Wisdom
 

Go to Past Events

Upcoming Events

October

Thursday, October 30, 2014
Towards a New Theory of Exploitation
5:30 PM - 6:30 PM
227 Humanities Building

Friday, October 31, 2014 - Sunday, November 9, 2014
Rice Cinema to host 3rd Annual Mediterranean Film Festival

Film Auditorium Rice Media Center

November

Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Huicholes: The Last Peyote Guardians
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
100 Rice Media Center

Thursday, November 6, 2014
TBA
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
125 Herring Hall

Thursday, November 6, 2014
Breaking the Curse of Forgotten Places: The Politics of Criminalizing Communities
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
100 Rice Media Center

Thursday, November 6, 2014
A Brief Tour of Yiddishland: Maurice Wolfthal
12:05 PM - 12:55 PM
118 Humanities Building

Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Visit to the Rice Cinema: HOW THE PROJECTION WORKS
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Rice Cinema Rice Media Center

Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Gray/Wawro Lecture: "When We Were Free to Be: Looking Back at a Children's Classic and the Difference It Made"
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
McMurtry Auditorium (1st floor) Duncan Hall

Thursday, November 13, 2014
TBA
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
125 Herring Hall

Thursday, November 13, 2014
Celebrating the Sociology of Culture: A Festschrift for Elizabeth Long
4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
309 Sewall Hall

Thursday, November 13, 2014
Celebrating the Sociology of Culture: A Festschrift for Elizabeth Long
3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Gallery Lobby Sewall Hall

Saturday, November 15, 2014
Rice Cinema & Houston Cinema Arts Society 2014 to host: "WOLF" - A live performance by Deke Weaver
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Rice Cinema Rice Media Center

Sunday, November 16, 2014
Rice Cinema & Houston Cinema Arts Society 2014 host: Free Speech on the Margins of the Media Empire: A "Meet the Makers" presentation by DeeDee Halleck
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Rice Cinema Rice Media Center

Thursday, November 20, 2014
Emerging Disciplines: Rodolphe el-Khoury
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Rice University
6100 Main St
Houston, Texas
USA

Thursday, November 20, 2014
TBA
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
125 Herring Hall

Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Arts in the Humanities Lecture Series to present Clammy Pipes, and Other First World Problems
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
100 Rice Media Center