Environmental Studies Faculty

Joseph A. Campana
Alan Dugald McKillop Professor, Department of English
Office: 315 Herring Hall
Email: joseph.a.campana@rice.edu
Phone: (713) 348-4316

Instructor, Minor Advisor, Faculty Advisory Board Member
Dominic Boyer, Ph.D.
Founding Director and Professor Center for Energy and Environmental Research in the Human Sciences(CENHS)
Professor Department of Anthropology
Office: Sewall Hall 564
Email: dcb2@rice.edu
Phone: (713) 348-2061

Instructor, Faculty Advisory Board Member
Jim Blackburn
Environmental Lawyer and Planner
Professor in the Practice Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Co-director Severe Storm Prediction, Education and Evacuation from Disaster (SSPEED) Center
Office: Mechanical Laboratory 108
Email: blackbur@rice.edu
Phone: (713) 348-4246

Instructor: Daniel Cohan
Associate Professor of Environmental Engineering
Email: cohan@rice.edu
Phone: 713-348-5129

Instructor: Annie Culver
English Department Graduate Student
Email: annie.culver@rice.edu

Instructor: Sylvia Dee
Assistant Professor of Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences
KWG 313
Email: sylvia.dee@rice.edu

Instructor: Amy Dunham
Associate Professor
E300B George R. Brown Hall
Email: aed4@rice.edu

Instructor: Peter R. Hartley
The George and Cynthia Mitchell Chair in Sustainable Development and Professor of Economics
Email: hartley@rice.edu
Phone Number: (713) 348-4683

Instructor: Cymene Howe
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Director of Graduate Studies
566 Sewall Hall
Email: Alyssa.C.Howe@rice.edu

Co-Director, Instructor, Faculty Advisory Board Member
Richard R. Johnson
Director Administrative Center for Sustainability and Energy Management
Professor in the Practice Department of Sociology
Adjunct Lecturer Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Office: Facilities Engineering and Planning Building
Email: rrj@rice.edu
Phone: (713) 348-5003

Instructor, Faculty Advisory Board Member
Jeffrey J. Kripal, Ph.D.
Associate Dean of Humanities
Professor Department of Religion
J. Newton Rayzor Chair Philosophy and Religious Thought
Chair of the Board Esalen Institute, Big Sur, California
Office: Humanities Building 217
Email: jjkripal@rice.edu
Phone: (713) 348-2238

Kenneth B. Medlock III
Adjunct Assistant Professor; James A. Baker and Susan G. Baker Fellow in Energy and Resource Economics
Office: Baker Hall 200A
Phone: 713.348.3757
Fax: 713.348.5278
Email: medlock@rice.edu

Instructor, Faculty Advisory Board Member
Julia K. Morgan, Ph.D.
Professor Department of Earth Sciences
Office: Keith-Wiess Geological Lab 315
Email: morganj@rice.edu
Phone: (713) 348-6330

Instructor, Faculty Advisory Board Member
Timothy Morton, Ph.D.
Rita Shea Guffey Chair, Professor Department of English
Office: Herring Hall 231
Email: tbm2@rice.edu
Phone: (713) 348-2645

Instructor: Jeffery A. Nittrouer
Assistant Professor of Earth, Environment, and Planetary Studies
Email: nittrouer@rice.edu
Phone Number: +1 (713) 348 4886

Instructor: Joseph R. Novak
Faculty Lecturer
xABL Lot Trailer
Email: joseph.novak@rice.edu

Instructor, Faculty Advisory Board Member
Albert Pope
Professor Rice University School of Architecture
Office: Anderson Hall 310
Email: ahp@rice.edu
Phone: (713) 348-3366

Instructor, Faculty Advisory Board Member
Evan Siemann, Ph.D.
Professor Department of Biosciences
Office: Anderson Biology Labs 101
Email: siemann@rice.edu
Phone: (713) 348-5954

Instructor: Brian Spector
Adjunct Professor in the Practice
318 Humanities Building, MS 42
Email: bhs3@rice.edu

Instructor: Rives Taylor
Lecturer, Architecture Department
Email: rives.taylor@rice.edu